Art and the Artist

I’ve been out of hospital now for a week. I’m happy to report that I’m feeling quite a bit stronger. I’m also back on my bodybuilding proteins, and am healing up from the venous assaults, my arms are no longer looking like pin-cushions.

The radiation treatments are continuing, and I had session five today. I find the radiation very pleasant, and the people are very nice, especially the other clientele I meet in the waiting area. Many have cases far worse than what I consider my own, and their strength of spirit and fellowship is an absolute inspiration as they face their own struggle with this pernicious disease.

To that end I find myself drawn once again into my life-long hobby of Art, and began a double canvas in acrylic. When I work in acrylic paint, I work in very thin layers, and it takes a considerable amount of time to build up the surfaces and lay in the drawing. This set will be a very nasty prehistoric fighting fossil of a fish, the top half on one canvas and the bottom half on the other…because that is what my particular cancer represents to me.

I estimate the piece will take some 40 hours to complete and perhaps it was my imagination, but the colors seemed brighter and the actual depth of paint was more intense. I was just fascinated as I laid the background color down.

I am also happy to report that my body seems to be tolerating the Tamoxifen very well. I will be curious to see how it all works out over time. The oncological teams are working very hard to save my life, and I am grateful for each and every one of the people involved, regardless of the ultimate outcome.

My husband had his 3rd RCHOP chemo today; that is half-way for his therapy for the lymphoma. So far so good.

As the week progresses, it will be a lot of resting and preparing for the increased rads in the second series of 10 treatments as they narrow in on the tumor in my brain. It is important, in these cases, to follow the doctor’s plan exactly, and not deviate — so that is what I plan to do.

So much of cancer treatment is like a math equation, it is about numbers, and in some cases the luck of the draw — if you don’t respond to the treatment, and many don’t, depending on what condition they have, you can find yourself in your own prehistoric fight, just like the fossil fish.

Attitude and aptitude only count for so much. If you have anything to say to someone, do it now. You do not know what the next few seconds will ever bring. Or, in the words of Buckaroo Banzai, Wherever you go, there you are.

From the 8th dimension, I wish you all well this week, and may you have peace that passeth all understanding.

Leave a Reply

