Founder of the Weather Channel Debunked

Founder of the Weather Channel Debunked

  • You’d think this would be the last word about the dangerous fantasies of conspiracy theorist and TV weatherman John Coleman.
  • Of course it won’t be.
  • My favorite quote from Coleman’s recent ICECAP article: “I have read dozens of scientific papers. I have talked with numerous scientists. I have studied. I have thought about it. I know I am correct.”
One Response to “Founder of the Weather Channel Debunked”

  1. Perhaps if he had said “it is my unshakeable conviction that”…however that means he had not consciously arrived at said conviction by following a particular line of thought perhaps, but that it is actually anchored in all his questions and answers, so anchored that it cannot be touched. To quote Wittgenstein (whom I just paraphrased, more or less): “All testing, all confirmation and disconfirmation of a hypothesis takes place already within a system. And this system is not a more or less arbitrary and doubtful point of departure for all our arguments: no, it belongs to the essence of what we call an argument. The system is not so much the point of departure, as the element in which arguments have their life…Isn’t this altogether like the way one can instruct a child to believe in a God, or that none exists, and it will accordingly be able to produce apparently telling grounds for the one or the other?” (On Certainty, 105, 107).

    Even if the most trustworthy of men assures me that he knows things are thus and so, this by itself cannot satisfy me that he does know. Only that he believes he knows. (On Certainty, 137)

Leave a Reply

